Posts tagged “Gang Colours

Brownswood Recordings | Brownswood 100 Remixed


Created by industry maven Gilles Peterson, Brownswood Recordings was initially a platform for unsigned artists, who were attempting to air their work on Gilles’ late night BBC Radio 1 show, to release their music; today, Brownswood represents an eclectic collection of producers.

For the label’s 100th release, Brownswood has decided to amass a retrospective of the group’s favourite reworks from 2006-2013. The compilation includes work from SBTRKT, Joy Orbison, Machinedrum, and George Fitzgerald– amongst others. It should be noted -despite the fact that this compilation is a retrospective- Mala & Simbad’s rework of Mala’s “Noches Suenos”  is brand new.

01. José James – BLACKMAGIC (Joy Orbison’s Recreation)
02. Gang Colours – To Repel Ghosts (George Fitzgerald Remix)
03. Ghostpoet – Survive It (Quest Guidance Remix)
04. Ben Westbeech – So Good Today (Yoruba Soul Remix)
05. Gilles Peterson’s Havana Cultura Band – Rezando (Michel Cleis Remix)
06. Owiny Sigoma Band – Doyoi Nyajo Nam (Quantic Remix)
07. José James – WARRIOR (SBTRKT Remix)
08. Mala – Noches Sueños (Mala & Simbad Super Dub Mix)
09. Gang Colours – Fancy Restaurant (Machinedrum Remix)
10. Zara McFarlane – Until Tomorrow (Ogris Debris Remix)
11. José James – Desire (Moodymann Remix)
12. Owiny Sigoma Band – Wires (Theo Parrish Remix)

My definitive favorite of the compilation (for the time being) is Moodymann’s rework of José James‘ “Desire”; but I assure you that every selection in the retrospective is of top quality. Some selections may even invoke a feeling of nostalgia.

The digital release is available now via Itunes, Bleep, Juno, and Boomkat.


James Zabeila | Healing (Gang Colours Remix)

The Healing

We haven’t been hearing too much from Gang Colours since the release of his (brilliant) debut album, The Keychain Collection, on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings. Word has it that Will Ozanne has been submerged in his studio, putting the final touches on his sophomore effort, which should be available early 2013. Though he is frequently likened to artists such as Gold Panda, Four Tet, and Floating Points, Gang Colours’ sound is very much his own, characterized by soft piano chords, warm, thick percussion, and understated electronic elements.

His rework for James Zabiela’s “Healing” is present on the introductory release to Born Electric, Zabiela’s new imprint. The track sits alongside four other remixes, courtesy of A-list UK producers, Hot Chip, Midland, and Clubroot. Listen to the rest of them here and download Gang Colours‘ below-

Gang Colours

[Gang Colours]


Gang Colours | Mary Anne Hobbs XFM Guest Mix

Gang Colours, (a.k.a. Will Ozanne), has won over many listeners with his recent LP release The Keychain Collection on Gilles Peterson‘s Brownswood Recordings.

Recently, Ozanne made a guest appearance on the Mary Anne Hobbs show: